David Powell spoke to the Round Table on May 8 and discussed Rosecrans' retreat into Chattanooga. 

This presentation was based on the third book in his Chickamauga trilogy,  Barren Victory: The Retreat into Chattanooga, the Confederate Pursuit, and the Aftermath of the Battle, September 21 to October 20, 1863.  David explained various details of the battle and its aftermath, arguing that while the Confederates achieved a significant tactical victory Bragg was unable to capitalize on the victory due largely to logistical problems.  Consequently, the Federals were able to establish a base in Chattanooga and prepare for the 1864 invasion of Georgia.



Bo Dubose will speak to the Round Table at the June 12 meeting.   You may register by mail or on line via the link below. 


To register for June 12 meeting
, click here.

Includes $2.00 Service Charge

Brian Wills Selected for 2018 Harwell Award

The Round Table has named our own Brian Wills as the recipient of the 2018 Richard Barksdale Harwell Award for his book Inglorious Passages: Noncombat Deaths in the American Civil War, published by the University Press of Kansas.  The Harwell Award is presented annually for the best book on a Civil War subject published in the prior year.
The award will be presented at the November 2018 meeting of the Round Table. 


Past Presidents Honored at November Meeting

L-R: Terry Kingery; David Beale; Art Carey; Penn Templeman; Barbara Long; Grant Moseley; Grady Ireland; Dudley Ottley; Mike Behan; Emmett Hall; J.D. Humphries; Vicky Frolich; Bruce Stewart; Leon McElveen; Gordon Jones


Dues for the current year (July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018) are now due. Please send payment of $60.00 to Secretary-Treasurer David Floyd.  Make your check payable to Civil War Round Table of Atlanta or CWRT-A.

David Floyd, Secretary-Treasurer
Civil War Round Table of Atlanta
4696 Kellogg Dr., S.W.
Lilburn, GA 30047-4408

You may also pay online via the link below.  There is a $2.00 service charge for online payments.  If you pay online, please notify David by email of any changes in address, phone number or email.   David's email address is dlfreb@msn.com.   


DUES FOR 2017-18

Click HERE to Pay Dues Online

Includes $2.00 Service Charge


Officers for 2017-18 were elected at the June meeting

Past President Vicky Frolich swears in officers for 2017-18. L-R: Gordon Jones, Immediate Past President; Amir Nowroozzadeh, 2nd Year At-Large EC Member; Mary Elizabeth Ellard, 2nd Year At-Large EC Member; Grant Moseley, President; Leon McElveen, "Battle Lines" Editor; Carlton Mullis, 1st Year At-Large EC Member; Brian Wills, 1st Vice President. Not Pictured: 2nd Vice President John Dietrich; Loran Crabtree, 1st Year At-Large EC Member; David Floyd, Secretary-Treasurer; Bill Gurry, Asst. Treasurer




The Civil War Round Table of Atlanta was organized in 1949 with the intent purpose to further the serious discussion and study of the American Civil War.

Meetings are held at Atlanta's Capital City Club on the second Tuesday of every month, with the exception of July and August. The evening's events start with a social hour at 5:30 PM and dinner at 7:00 PM. Check in by 6:30 PM. The speaker's program begins at 8:00 PM.

Capital City Club
7 John Portman Boulevard
Atlanta, GA 30303
(404) 523-8221 

The emphasis for each meeting is on our guest speaker.  The meetings of the Civil War Round Table of Atlanta regularly feature the top experts in various fields related to the Civil War.

Let us hear from you if you would like to join us one evening or if you have an interest in applying for a membership. Reservation for dinner must be made through Secretary-Treasurer David Floyd, by mail, no later than noon on the Friday preceding the Tuesday meeting.

 David Floyd
4696 Kellogg Drive, SW
Lilburn, GA 30047- 4408